Animal Collective's Panda Bear and the Grim Reaper Meet in Asheville

Panda Bear will bring his dreamy, psychedelic “chillwave” sounds to Asheville’s Orange Peel May 9

As a key member of Animal Collective Panda Bear (Noah Lennox) has become one of the more recognized voices in indie music over the past decade. As Panda Bear he’s been releasing music since 1999. His latest album, Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper is trippy and reverb laden, with heavy electronics and synths, floating vocals and a multitide or swirls and gurgles.

Instinctively nomadic and musically inquisitive, Lennox first stepped out with a Panda Bear solo effort back in 1999 and since then his musical development has been as puzzling and pleasing as that of the Collective itself. Lennox made his way to University in Boston, before moving down to New York at the turn of the millennium to link up with his recently-convened Animal brethren. The range of sounds and the lack of predictability In Panda Bear’s music are certainly still there, as is the sense for glorious Beach Boys harmonies amidst loops and noises going insane and the transformations from record to record. When his 2007 effort Person Pitch made it to many year end lists, with its debt to repetitive techno structures and a clear sense of purpose within the playfulness, this marked the start of a widespread recognition that few people had dared to hope for. Never sticking with any particular sound, Panda’s range goes from the humble folk jams of Young Prayer to full-on electronic pop, while teaming up with Sonic Boom of Spacemen3 infamy has proved particularly fruitful, with plenty of experimental leanings on his Tomboy LP and Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper.

Lennox told Rolling Stone, he had no “larger story” going into the record, but that one unfolded as he went about sequencing the tracks. “The first section feels like an identity dissolving, hectic and busy and more intense, more abrasive,” he says. “It’s the death throes of the identity and as the album progresses, it gets more broken apart and damaged until it hits this place where the previous identity completely disappears. It matches the times in my life where I felt like I had gone through an intense change of character when I felt like I was growing the most.”

Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper Tracklist:
01. Sequential Circuits
02. Mr Noah
03. Davy Jones’ Locker
04. Crosswords
05. Butcher Baker Candlestick Maker
06. Boys Latin
07. Come To Your Senses
08. Tropic of Cancer
09. Shadow of the Colossus
10. Lonely Wanderer
11. Principe Real
12. Selfish Gene
13. Acid Wash

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: